Dad of Divas' Reviews: 2017

Saturday, December 16, 2017

Book Review - Sparks

sparks




About the Book
This Super Dog is the Cat's Meow!

August is a brilliant inventor who is afraid of the outside. Charlie is a crack pilot who isn't afraid of anything. Together these pals save lives every day. They also happen to be cats who pilot a powerful, mechanical dog suit!

Always eager to leap into danger, this feline duo have their work cut out for them as they try to thwart Princess, an evil alien bent on enslaving mankind. Don't let the fact that Princess looks like a cute, diaper-wearing baby fool you. She's clever, determined, and totally ruthless. So when Princess and the browbeaten fools she calls servants enact a brilliant and dastardly plan to conquer Earth, August and Charlie pull out all the stops to save the day.



My Take on the Book
We love a great graphic novel and this book was a ton of fun with characters that you will love. We love cats and these cats were crazy fun. There is humor, adventure and more. This is a very fun,quick and easy read and you will love how compelling the story is in all!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - I Survived the Children’s Blizzard, 1888

I Survived the Children’s Blizzard, 1888




About the Book
Eleven-year-old John Hale has already survived one brutal Dakota winter, and now he's about to experience one of the deadliest blizzards in American history. The storm of 1888 was a monster, a frozen hurricane that slammed into America's midwest without warning. Within hours, America's prairie would be buried under ten feet of snow. Hundreds would be dead, thousands terrified and lost and freezing.

John never wanted to move to the wide-open prairie. He's a city kid, not a tough pioneer! But his inner strength is seriously tested when he finds himself trapped in the blinding snow, the wind like a giant crushing hammer, pounding him over and over again. Will John ever find his way home?



My Take on the Book
This is a great book that brings you into a time of history that I did not know anything about. I really liked this book and learned a lot. I did not know so much and while the book is fiction they really do a great job at making you feel for the characters in general. In all, this is an amazing book that I allowed me to learn a ton from and you will too.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Monday, December 11, 2017

Book Review - Chasing King's Killer: The Hunt for Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Assassin

Chasing King's Killer: The Hunt for Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Assassin



About the Book
In his meteoric, thirteen-year rise to fame, Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. led a mass movement for Civil Rights -- with his relentless peaceful, non-violent protests, public demonstrations, and eloquent speeches. But as violent threats cast a dark shadow over Dr. King's life, Swanson hones in on James Earl Ray, a bizarre, racist, prison escapee who tragically ends King's life.

As he did in his bestselling Scholastic MG/YA books Chasing Lincoln's Killer and "THE PRESIDENT HAS BEEN SHOT!", Swanson transports readers back to one of the most shocking, sad, and terrifying events in American history.

With an introduction by Congressman John Lewis, and over 80 photographs, captions, bibliography, various source notes, and index included.



My Take on the Book
WOW! This was a powerful book that will help you learn so much about an amazing man and the situation that led to his death. The book itself was so insightful and interesting. It was sad and definitely shared a ton of information that I was not aware of in the past. This is a book that will open your eyes to the truth behind the assassination of Martin Luther King. I am so glad that I was able to find this book and read this as I was not aware of so much that was reported here, and I know that anyone that reads this will learn a ton as well!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Geronimo Stilton: Cyber-Thief Showdown

Geronimo Stilton: Cyber-Thief Showdown



About the Book
I am not the kind of mouse who spends money on useless things. But one day I kept getting packages of things I did not order or need. Someone on the Internet had stolen my identity! Professor Margo Bitmouse, a well-known computer expert, helped me track down the hacker. Could I find the thief before my reputation was ruined?



My Take on the Book
This was a fun book that brings in technology, mystery, adventure and more. If you are a fan of Geronimo Stilton you will love this book too. Find out the answer to the question of who stole Geronimo's identity and how will he get his identity back. This was a great story that you and your kids will love!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - How to Draw Cool Ships and Boats: From Sailboats to Ocean Liners


How to Draw Cool Ships and Boats: From Sailboats to Ocean Liners



About the Book
Give budding young artists the tools they need to let their creativity soar!

These small but informative drawing books will help children discover and expand on their creative drawing talent. Inside this book, theyĆ¢€™ll find easy, step-by-step instructions for drawing everything from a small canoe to a giant cruise ship! Each title in the How to Draw series features more than 100 weird and wonderful drawing projects in a variety of categories. A handy index in the back of the book makes it easy to find favorites to practice again and again.




My Take on the Book
This was a great book that if you are at all interested in drawing you will love to see all of the ships and boats that you can create. The book walks you through the steps that you can take to create the drawings that you will want to create by yourself or with your kids. I loved how much fun this book was and I have created some very awesome drawings thus far and you can too.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - How to Draw Fun Flying Vehicles: From Hang Gliders to Drones

How to Draw Fun Flying Vehicles: From Hang Gliders to Drones
Add caption



About the Book
Give budding young artists the tools they need to let their creativity soar!

These small but informative drawing books will help children discover and expand on their creative drawing talent. Inside this book, theyĆ¢€™ll find easy, step-by-step instructions for drawing everything from tiny airplanes and jumbo jets to helicopters, blimps and more. Each title in the How to Draw series features more than 100 weird and wonderful drawing projects in a variety of categories. A handy index in the back of the book makes it easy to find favorites to practice again and again.



My Take on the Book
This was a great book that if you are at all interested in drawing you will love to see all of the vehicles that you can create. The book walks you through the steps that you can take to create the drawings that you will want to create by yourself or with your kids. I loved how much fun this book was and I have created some very awesome drawings thus far and you can too.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Key Hunter: The Risky Rescue

Key Hunter: The Risky Rescue



About the Book
Cleo and Evan have a secret. A collection of books so dangerous they are locked up tight. And only they can find the keys to release the magic inside!

SURVIVING THE WILDERNESS IS ONLY HALF THE BATTLE!

A plane crash in the Amazon lands Cleo and Evan on the hunt for a valuable golden statue. They must find it -- and their next key -- to make it home alive. But the jungle is full of deadly creatures, raging rapids, and an all-too-familiar villain who wants nothing more than to trap them forever!




My Take on the Book
This is a great book in the series that was a ton of fun. My daughter loves the characters in the series and the plot in this one was a ton of fun as well. You get adventure, mystery and a bit more in this fun book. It is a quick read but definitely worth the time!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Sunday, December 10, 2017

Book Review - American Girl: Real Stories From My Time: The Underground Railroad

American Girl: Real Stories From My Time: The Underground Railroad


About the Book
Discover the stories of the real people and events that shaped American history in the Real Stories From My Time series. Perfect for book reports with full-page illustrations throughout, these nonfiction chapter books also include historical photos, maps, a timeline, a glossary, and a bibliography at the back. Plus, in each book, an American Girl historical character shares a bit of her own fictional story.





My Take on the Book
This was a powerful story that makes you look at the Underground Railroad in a completely new way. We loved seeing the journey that people on the Underground Railroad were on through an individuals' eyes. This makes the story even more relatable. You will not only learn a ton but you will come to really connect with the characters too!


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - CoderDojo Nano: Make Your Own Game: Create With Code

CoderDojo Nano: Make Your Own Game: Create With Code



About the Book
Children will learn everything--from creating a game world to animating characters to determining the physics of movement within the game. Each concept is illustrated with a screenshot to make checking easy, and incredible pixel art from Army of Trolls makes this look like no other coding book.



My Take on the Book


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Wednesday, November 29, 2017

Tree Effects is from GeekMyTree provides a stunning tabletop light show!





Tree Effects is a stunning tabletop light show tree with 50 full-color light patterns, changeable light caps, and a wireless remote for only $49. The product is perfect for people who want to add a little Christmas cheer but have limited space or no longer want to hassle with a big tree.

Unlike traditional pre-lit trees, Tree Effects operates every LED independently to deliver spectacular full-color effects that mesmerize friends and family. Simply fluff the tree, place the lights, then plug it in for an instant light show that is easily controlled with the provided wireless remote.

Tree Effects is from GeekMyTree provides a stunning tabletop light show!


Tree Effects also features changeable light caps. You can replace the included mini-snowflakes with new shapes like stars, pumpkins, or pet paws, for different holidays or themed looks. For a limited time Get a FREE Pet Paw Caps when purchased with Tree Effects. Discount applied at checkout.

Tree Effects was first introduced through Kickstarter in March 2017, and the project was completely funded within 48 hours. Tree Effects delivers the experience of the original GeekMyTree GlowBalls seen on Shark Tank on a tabletop tree for a fraction of the original price.


About GeekMyTree
GeekMyTree, based in Grand Haven, Michigan, appeared on Shark Tank in December 2015. On the show, the company introduced its hassle-free way to create sophisticated, brilliant, full-color light shows on full-sized Christmas trees, garnering an investment from Kevin O'Leary. GeekMyTree's patented and artistic technologies have propelled the company to a leadership role in full-color, consumer-based, light show systems.

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Portable North Pole - Personalized Santa Videos, Toys and More!

Portable North Pole - Personalized Santa Videos, Toys and More!




Make Christmas Magic with Portable North Pole Portable North Pole 2017 (PNP) lets you make Christmas even more magical by sending personalized video messages and calls from Santa from the enchanted North Pole to children young and old. Watch them be amazed as they see Santa in his home, the magical reindeer, and the hustle and bustle of the elves as they prepare for Christmas Eve. As the top free mobile Santa app with more than 160 million videos viewed, PNP is a cherished, modern holiday tradition for families worldwide. In just moments, create an adorable video from Santa that you and your child will remember forever. Simply visit the PNP website or download the mobile app on iOS or Android.

PNP offers a free video for every child with a new option to purchase a single premium video ($4.99) or upgrade to a premium package, including the Video Pass ($9.99) or Magic Pass ($13.99). Both packages provide six enchanting video storylines to choose from, with each offering five or more minutes of footage to watch, from exploring Santa's workshop to the amazing gift-wrapping machine, as well as the Reaction Recorder (available on mobile app only). In addition, you can create an unlimited number of videos, and receive a special "Santa's Coming" video to watch on Christmas Eve. Plus, the Magic Pass includes HD video downloads and five weekly bedtime videos read by Santa leading up to the big day.

Save 20% Make Christmas magic With Portable North Pole! - Use Promo Code: PNP7Family




----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Monday, November 20, 2017

Book Review - Thelma the Unicorn

Thelma the Unicorn



About the Book
Thelma dreams of being a glamorous unicorn. Then in a rare pink and glitter-filled moment of fate, Thelma's wish comes true.

She rises to instant international stardom, but at an unexpected cost. After a while, Thelma realizes that she was happier as her ordinary, sparkle-free self. So she ditches her horn, scrubs off her sparkles, and returns home, where her best friend is waiting for her with a hug.

From award-winning author Aaron Blabey comes this joyful book about learning to love who you are...even if you don't have sparkles.



My Take on the Book
This was a book that was a ton of fun. Thelma is such a lovable character. The illustrations and the writing in this book were so fun for my whole family and it will be a ton of fun for you to read with yours too. If you have never met Thelma, you have to, she is a Unicorn you will never forget!


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Pig The Elf

Pig The Elf




About the Book
Santa was coming! 'Twas bigger than big!

No one loves Christmas more than Pig. And the world's greediest pug will stay up all night to get his presents! When Pig yips at Santa and finds himself joining in on the flying sleigh ride, things quickly get out of hand in a way that is pure Pig pandemonium.


My Take on the Book
We loved reading this Pig the Pug book. While we had not read the previous book, this one was a ton of fun to read with my daughters. They loved seeing the interaction between Pig and Trevor, and while the two dogs are very different, it was fun to see Pig get to learn a lesson in the end. Pig may be the dog that you love to hate but it was nice that he gets his in the end!


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - The World Almanac and Book of Facts 2018





About the Book
How does the Trump administration’s first year compare to those of past presidents? How do Harvey and Irma stack up against other historic hurricanes? While 2017 was a momentous year, its significant events will live on and gain context in The World Almanac and Book of Facts 2018, available in print and as an eBook for all platforms onDecember 5The 150th anniversary edition of America’s best-selling reference book celebrates its illustrious history while keeping an eye on the future in order to be your go-to source for questions on any topic in the upcoming year.

New features include “150 Years of The World Almanac,” with highlights from its distinguished past and some old-fashioned “facts” illustrating how its defining mission has changed with the times; “World Almanac Editors' Picks: Greatest Single-Season Performances,” featuring athletes' best single-season runs; “Statistical Spotlight, featuring infographics relevant to the biggest stories of the year; and “The Obama Presidency,” a recap of the policy achievements and challenges of the 44th U.S. president.

Favorite sections making their return include “Year in Sports,” “Top 10 News Topics,” “The World at a Glance,” “Time Capsule,” Offbeat News Stories,” and Historical Anniversaries.”

For 150 years, The World Almanac and Book of Facts has remained a constant, authoritative source for people all around the globe,” said Sarah Janssen, senior editor of The World Almanac. “In this anniversary edition, we’ve included special features that look back on our proud history and key milestones from the past—along with additions that spotlight the past year’s developments. And with The World Almanac, you’ll take on 2018 with all of the information you’ll need in the year to come.”

Highlights from The World Almanac and Book of Facts 2018 include:

  • 150 Years of The World AlmanacThis special feature celebrating The World Almanac's historic run includes highlights from its distinguished past and some old-fashioned “facts” illustrating how its defining mission has changed with the times.

  • Historical Anniversaries: The World Almanac's recurring feature expands to incorporate milestone events and cultural touchstones dating to the book's founding year, from the impeachment of President Andrew Johnson to the publication of Little Women.

  • The World at a Glance: This annual feature of The World Almanac provides a quick look at the surprising stats and curious facts that define the changing world.

  • The Obama Presidency: A year after Barack Obama’s second term came to a close, The World Almanac reviews the accomplishments, missteps, and legacy of the 44th president.

  • Other New Highlights: A brand-new biography of the 45th president and profile of the Trump administration; official 2016 election results; and statistics on criminal incarceration and sentence lengths, health care, overdose deaths, shootings, terrorism, and much more.

  • The Year in Review: The World Almanac takes a look back at 2017 while providing all the information you'll need in 2018.

    • 2017—Top 10 News Topics: The editors of The World Almanac list the top stories that held the world's attention in 2017.

    • 2017—Year in Sports: Hundreds of pages of trivia and statistics that are essential for any sports fan, featuring a preview of the upcoming 2018 Winter Olympic Games; complete coverage of the 2017 World Series; new tables of NBA, NHL, and NCAA statistics; and much more.

    • 2017—Year in Pictures: Striking full-color images from around the world in 2017, covering news, entertainment, science, and sports.

    • 2017—Offbeat News Stories: The World Almanac editors found some of the quirkiest news stories of the year, from the king who secretly worked as an airline pilot for decades to the state that’s auctioning off its governor’s mansion.

    • World Almanac Editors' Picks: Time Capsule: The World Almanac lists the items that most came to symbolize the year 2017, from news and sports to pop culture.

The World Almanac and Book of Facts 2018 is available for purchase at www.worldalmanac.com and wherever books are sold. For the eBook version, please check your online retailer.

About The World Almanac
The World Almanac's history as a publisher of award-winning reference titles dates back 150 years. The imprint includes the iconic title The World Almanac and Book of Facts, the best-selling American reference book of all time.

The World Almanac brand is part of Infobase Holdings (www.infobaseholdings.com), an educational media company that owns such well-known brands as Facts On File, Films Media Group, Chelsea House, Bloom's, and Ferguson’s. Infobase is a portfolio company investment of Veronis Suhler Stevenson (www.vss.com), a private equity firm that invests in the media, information, and education industries.




My Take on the Book
I always loved to read through the World Almanac every year to learn more about the world around me. This book is filled with amazing facts, figures and more that will inform you and encourage you to read more. This information is so interesting, and I for one, find that I learn more and more every year that I read this great book. The book is so detailed. Whether you want to know about History, Education, Aerospace, or States, among many others this book delivers! There are so many sections in this book that will help you learn a ton as you read though it or simply use it as a resource!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Sunday, November 19, 2017

DVD Review - Digimon Adventure Tri.: Confession

Digimon Adventure Tri.: Confession



About the DVD
Tai and his friends are haunted by the infection that resulted in Meicoomon destroying Leomon. What could have caused it? When did it occur? Now, all of the Digimon are quarantined, in hopes that answers can be found and the infection can be stopped. Unfortunately, one of the quarantined Digimon is already showing symptoms.



My Take on the DVD
We have loved watching this series in the past and we were excited to see this new DVD as well. This DVD had a great movie on it that I had not seen in the past. This DVD really allowed you to get in deep into the Digimon world. This movie had some great characters as well as a great plot too. This movie had some great adventure and was very fast paced too. I loved the movie and you will too!


----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Book Review - Captain Underpants and the Wrath of the Wicked Wedgie Woman

Captain Underpants and the Wrath of the Wicked Wedgie Woman



About the Book
George and Harold are always good at using their imaginations, and that drives their mean homeroom teacher, Ms. Ribble, crazy! But this time, they've come up with much more than a silly prank -- they've accidentally created a MONSTER! With her horrendous hairdo and two rabid robots, Wedgie Woman is well on her way to world domination, and only the Waistband Warrior can stop her!



My Take on the Book
This is another great book that will have you laughing with your kids from the beginning to the end of the book. My girls have loved this great series of books since they first started and this book continues the fun from past books and brings you even deeper into the fun as well. This is a great book that will love to read with your kids!

----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com

Wednesday, November 8, 2017

Book Review - Mickey's Christmas Storybook Treasury

Mickey's Christmas Storybook Treasury




About the Book
Celebrate the spirit of the season with this collectible Mickey & Friends volume featuring four beautifully illustrated Christmas stories: "Mickey's Christmas Carol," "Huey, Dewey, and Louie's Christmas Wish," "Donald's Christmas Tree," and "The Gift of the Magi." Bring home the timeless appeal of Disney storytelling and experience the magic again and again!



My Take on the Book
What a wonderful holiday collection of stories in one book. The book is filled with fun stories but even better artwork that you will love with each page that is turned. This is a huge book with over 250 pages. You will find that each story is unique and Mickey and his friends are interspersed throughout the book too. The book could easily be given as a gift or shared as a treasured family book that you can read over and over and over again!




----------------------------------------
New to the Divadom or to Dad of Divas Reviews?
Please Subscribe to my RSS Feed! Subscribe in a reader
Questions? Drop me a line at dadofdivas@gmail.com